"" PLAYOFF MATCHES SET - Calgary Roughnecks - News

The Roughnecks will open the post-season on May 3 against the Colorado Mammoth

By Jason Johnson | Published: 4/23/2014 at 9:29:46 PM

The National Lacrosse League features a new and expanded playoff format for the 2014 NLL season and beyond. With just one week reminaing in the 2014 campaign, the playoff matchups have been set.

The Edmonton Rush have locked up first place the West Division and home field advantage thoughout the playoffs with a 14-2 record. The Rush recieve a bye into the West Finals. The Calgary Roughnecks will host the Colordao Mammoth in the West Division semi-final on Saturday, May 3. The winner will play the Rush in a two-game series with the winner going to the NLL Champions Cup series.

The defending NLL Champion Rochester Knighthawks have clinched first place in the East Division and will play the winner of the Toronto Rock and the Buffalo Bandits, the East Division semi-final game. It has yet to be determined which team will host the game as each club holds identical 8-9 records and will finish their respective seasons Saturday.

Prior to the start of the 2014 season, the league reduced the number of teams who qualify for the playoffs from eight to six teams, featuring the top three clubs in each division's standings. The crossover rule will no longer apply. The two regular season division champions will earn a first-round bye as top seeds. The second seed will host the third seed in their respective division for the single-game elimination Division Semifinal in the first round.

New to the postseason format, the Division Finals and Championship both expand to a two-game series from the previous single-game elimination setup. The top seed from each division will play the winner of the Division Semifinal game between the second and third seeds, with the lower-seeded team hosting the first game and the higher seed hosting the second game of the series.

Teams who win both games shall win the two-game series. In the event of a series split with both teams winning one game, a 10-minute tiebreaker game will be played immediately following the conclusion of the second contest to determine the winner of the playoff series.

Coinciding with the new postseason format, the league's divisions realigned this season as the Minnesota Swarm join the Buffalo Bandits, Philadelphia Wings, Rochester Knighthawks and Toronto Rock in the new five-team East Division. The four-team West Division will be comprised of the Calgary Roughnecks, Colorado Mammoth, Edmonton Rush and Vancouver Stealth.

The new playoff format was made official when the league reached an accord with the Professional Lacrosse Players’ Association for a new seven-year Collective Bargaining Agreement through the 2020 NLL season.



Friday, October 20, 2017 | 3:23:28 PM
Friday, October 20, 2017 | 1:54:44 PM
Tuesday, October 17, 2017 | 2:05:42 PM
Thursday, October 12, 2017 | 9:36:10 AM
Wednesday, October 11, 2017 | 1:55:00 PM
Friday, October 06, 2017 | 1:50:15 PM
Thursday, October 05, 2017 | 11:52:51 AM
Monday, September 25, 2017 | 1:01:05 PM




© 2017 by The Calgary Flames Hockey Club. All rights reserved.
No portion of this site may be reproduced without the express written permission of The Calgary Flames Hockey Club

Calgary Flames Hockey Club Calgary Roughnecks Lacrosse Club Scotiabank Saddldeome Calgary Hitmen Hockey Club Calgary Stampeders Football Club