Shane Simpson of the Calgary Roughnecks

By: Laura Barker – 08.05.24

Calgary Roughnecks transition player Shane Simpson has been named as a finalist for the 2024 Transition Player of the Year for the National Lacrosse League end of season awards.

Simpson, who was selected by the Calgary Roughnecks in the First Round (6th overall) in the 2018 Entry Draft, led the league’s defensemen in regular season points with 28 (18g, 10a), and power play goals with 2.

The top three vote getters for each award are listed as the finalists. The winners will be announced over the course of the week of May 13. All awards were voted on prior to the start of the 2024 playoffs and were based on regular season statistics and performances.

Most Valuable Player
• Josh Byrne – Forward – Buffalo Bandits
• Nick Rose – Goaltender – Toronto Rock
• Dhane Smith – Forward – Buffalo Bandits

Rookie of the Year
• Owen Grant – Transition – Vancouver Warriors
• Tye Kurtz – Forward – Albany FireWolves
• Alex Simmons – Forward – Albany FireWolves

Goaltender of the Year
• Doug Jamieson – Albany FireWolves
• Chris Origlieri – San Diego Seals
• Nick Rose – Toronto Rock

Offensive Player of the Year
• Josh Byrne – Buffalo Bandits
• Dhane Smith – Buffalo Bandits
• Jeff Teat – New York Riptide

Transition Player of the Year
• Ian MacKay – Buffalo Bandits
• Shane Simpson – Calgary Roughnecks
• Jake Withers – Halifax Thunderbirds

Defensive Player of the Year
• Mitch de Snoo – Toronto Rock
• Ryan Dilks – Vancouver Warriors
• Brad Kri – Toronto Rock

Sportsmanship Award
• Keegan Bal – Vancouver Warriors
• Tom Schreiber – Toronto Rock
• Lyle Thompson* – Georgia Swarm

Les Bartley Award (Head Coach of the Year)
• Glenn Clark – Albany FireWolves
• Curt Malawsky* – Vancouver Warriors
• Matt Sawyer – Toronto Rock

General Manager of the Year
• Glenn Clark – Albany FireWolves
• Jamie Dawick – Toronto Rock
• Curt Malawsky – Vancouver Warriors

Executive of the Year
• John Catalano – President and Chief Executive Officer, Halifax Thunderbirds
• Mike Hancock – Director of Communications and Lacrosse Operations, Toronto Rock
• Oliver Marti – Chief Executive Officer, Albany FireWolves

Tom Borrelli Award (Media Person of the Year)
• Teddy Jenner* – TSN play-by-play and co-host, “Off the Crosse Bar” podcast
• Adam Levi –, Inside Lacrosse, NLLPA contributing writer and host, “Lacrosse Matrix” podcast
• Graeme Perrow – NLL Chatter

*denotes 2023 winner

Back to News

Related Posts