The Calgary Roughnecks today announced their protected player list ahead of the 2021 National Lacrosse League Expansion Draft on Tuesday, June 29, 2021.

The Roughnecks have designated five offensive players, five defensive players and one goalie who are exempt from selection in the draft. Under Expansion Draft rules, each of the 13 member clubs will surrender one player to the Fort Worth-based Panther City Lacrosse Club, which is slated to begin play during the 2021-22 season.

2019 Calgary Roughnecks Protected Player List

No. Player Position
1 Christian Del Bianco Goaltender
2 Curtis Dickson Offence
3 Jesse King Offence
4 Tyler Pace Offence
5 Haiden Dickson Offence
6 Tanner Cook Offence
7 Zach Currier Defence
8 Eli Salama Defence
9 Reece Callies Defence
10 Shane Simpson Defence
11 Harrison Matsuoka Defence

“Establishing 11 protected players for the expansion draft was a difficult process,” said Roughnecks general manager Mike Board. “Adding teams is a positive for the continued growth of the NLL, as is the success of those expansion teams as they get started. Under the expansion draft guidelines teams can only protect a certain number of players at the various positions. We expect to lose a good player in the draft because of the depth on our roster. That’s the reality of an expansion draft.”

We’re back, party on!  Roughnecks 2021-22 season tickets are now available at the same price as the 2019-2020 season. Call our customer service team (403-777-4646) for all the details.

Back to News

Related Posts